CD Review: Chris Tomlin “Hello Love”

Share on Facebook

July 29, 2008 by: Rodney

Do you like me remember how it felt the night before Christmas? I couldn’t stand the anticipation of what would be under the tree, or reading the Christmas story from the Bible and trying to stay awake to catch Santa coming down the chimney. Now, some 30 years later I get to relive that feeling every time a CD arrives in our mailbox. This time around our good friend Christina at the {m} Media Collective has blessed us with Chris Tomlin’s new project “Hello Love” which will be in stores September 2nd.

Are you ready to experience love and compassion in a real way today?

Then “Hello Love” is exactly what you need. Chris and his amazing band mates Jesse, Daniel, Travis and Matt have crafted many of the powerful moments on this project. In fact, the project has gotten off to a HUGE start as the first radio single “Jesus Messiah” has become the most added multi-format song in Christian radio history.

“Hello Love” opens up with “Sing, Sing, Sing” which allows you to get right into the music. By the middle of this song it was as if I was in Church with my hands raised singing at the top of my lungs “Sing, Sing, Sing.” But, thanks to my loving wife she quickly reminded me that 1) I was in the car and I needed to keep my hands on the wheel and 2) I need to leave the singing to Chris. Thanks babe.

The track that I think will be sung for years to come is “God of This City”. The song was actually written by a band called Bluetree from Northern Ireland. Chris was on tour their and they opened up for him and he heard them sing it. Right away he knew it was the perfect song for this project. On top of that he learned that the boys of Bluetree wrote this song in the middle of a brothel in Thailand. WOW! I promise after one listen you’ll immediately feel the hairs on your arms stand up.

Track 6 “Love” features the Watoto Children’s Choir from Uganda. This was another song that God had his hand on from the beginning. You see Ed Cash the producer on “Hello Love” suggested that Chris use an African children’s choir on the track. Admittedly, Chris was a little unsure of how they were going to get a children’s choir from Africa to Nashville, but Ed’s assistant Matt found out that the Watoto Children’s Choir was in town for a concert and had a day off before leaving town. Well, needless to say Ed and Chris were greatful for their time and talent. Oh, and one more note these children are AIDS orphans so who better to sing a song simply called “Love”.

To date Chris has recorded six studio albums, has had six number 1 radio singles, two GRAMMY nominations, and has received 14 (yes that’s not a typo) 14 Dove Awards. Well, simply put he better get another shelf at his home ready because “Hello Love” is filled with songs that will bring him more recognition. But, from what I’ve heard about Chris he could care less about these awards and care more about what God is doing through them in the lives of people who pick up “Hello Love” on September 2nd.

Track Listing:

1. Sing, Sing, Sing

2. Jesus Messiah

3. You Lifted Me Out

4. God of This City

5. I Will Rise

6. Love

7. Praise The Father, Praise The Son

8. God Almighty

9. My Deliverer

10. With Me

11. Exalted

12. All The Way My Savior Leads Me

This is Chris singing “God of This City” last month at Frenzy 2008 in Scotland. He’s leading the crowd of 7,000 plus in a time of worship and you can hear them connect with the lyrics to this song. Remember my promise from above about this song, lets just see what happens.

 |  Filed under: Reviews  |  Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

We love your comments! Please read our Comment Guidelines